Special Education

The mission of the Special Education Department at Silver Lake Regional High School is to provide students with disabilities specialized instruction and the tools they need to reach their highest potential! It is our belief that if provided with the appropriate supports in the least restrictive environment, all students with disabilities can strive and succeed.

Transition Planning

Individualized Education Programs at the high school are focused on transition planning. Transition planning is critical for all students 14 - 22 years of age. Transition planning focuses on the following areas: instruction, employment, and community experiences/post school adult living. Transition planning is outlined through the use of a Transition Planning Form. Transition planning takes into account a student's needs, strengths, skills, and interests. A student's goals outlined in in his/her Individualized Education Program should be those that need to be accomplished in order for a student to successfully transition into adulthood. The following are links to additional information about transition planning:

Article on Transition Planning

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Employment Opportunities for Individuals with Disabilities

Transition Planning for Students with Autism

Wright's Law

Special Education Helpful Links

Autism Speaks

Best Buddies

Creating a home where a child with a Disability can thrive

Department of Developmental Services

Federation of Children with Special Needs

Greater MA Special Education Events

Home Accommodations for a Child with a Disability

Massachusetts Department of Special Education

Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission

Silver Lake District Special Education Site

Special Education Notice of Procedural Safeguards

Faculty

Mrs. Michelle Boudreau
Special Education Coordinator,
7-12 (781) 585-3844 x 1028

mboudreau@slrsd.org

Tom Alexander
thomasalexander@slrsd.org

Karen Aveni
kaveni@slrsd.org

Joseph Bastian
josephbastian@slrsd.org

Katelyn Botelho
kbotelho@slrsd.org

Matt Cleary
mcleary@slrd.org

Laura Courage
Pathways Program
lcourage@slrsd.org

Alexandra Frazier
Developmental Learning Center
afrazier@slrsd.org

Mike Martin
mimartin@slrsd.org

Whitney Murphy
whitneymurphy@slrsd.org

James Vanaria
jamesvanaria@slrsd.org

Victoria Wallace
victoricawallace@slrsd.org

Paraprofessionals

Erin Albert

Gayle Carson

Abigail Cohen
(Job Coach - Pathways Program)

Judy DeSantis
(Job Coach - Pathways Program)

Ashley Doherty

Katelyn Evans

Laurie Giampietro

Jess Kjellander

Nicholas Hines

Carter Migre

Adalyda Silverberg

Stacey Thibodeau

Suzanne Trepanier
(Job Coach - Pathways Program)

Jennifer Tuzik