About the School Committees

Silver Lake Regional School District and Superintendency Union #31 includes the towns of Halifax, Kingston and Plympton.  The three elementary school committees consist of 5 members for each committee who are elected for overlapping three year terms.  The Silver Lake School Committee for grades 7-12 consists of 9 members from each of the three towns who are also elected for overlapping three year terms.

While the superintendent is responsible for the administrative operation of the district, the school committees’ primary responsibilities are to:

  1. Oversee the annual school budgets
  2. Develop school system policies
  3. Hire and review the performance of the superintendent of schools
  4. Advocate for the school system with citizens and town government

The school committee maintains membership with the Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC) which provides ongoing training for school committee members and to inform them of the importance in fulfilling the role of School Committee member.